Taking Time

Last weekend I was at a festival – Keep the Spirit Alive – with Danny. He was setup at the Sycamore Shoals in Elizabethan TN.

A woman in her twilight years walked up to the booth and looked right at me and asked “are you Kay?”. I said “why yes I am”.

She asked if she could speak to me in private. I motion for her to step off to the back of the booth.

It was clear that she had something on her mind, so she set right in to talking. She looked me in the eyes and said “you don’t remember me do you?” I took a moment and search her face and looked deep into her eyes, but I couldn’t conjure up who she was and how I might know her.

I said “no mama, I don’t”.  She smiled.

She said years ago, maybe 8 or more, she had come to Sycamore Shoals state park to take a flute making class with Danny and me.

She told me she was only able to attend the first day of the class. She made her own flute that day. On the second day of the class she wasn’t able to attend, because her Aunt had crossed over and she needed to attend her funeral.

She told me that she ran into me at another event, here at Sycamore Shoals State Park. She shared with me what happen with her Aunt crossing over and not being able to attend the second day of the class to learn how to play the flute she had made.

She said that I took her out into the park and we sat under some trees and I showed her how to play the flute.

Then the memory of what she was saying, came flooding back. A smile of recognition lite up my face and I saw in her eyes that she knew, that I now remembered.

I reached out gently and lovingly grabbed her hand and said “how wonderful to see you again. How have you been?”.

She smile and said well. I have been playing the flute ever since that day in park, under the trees. I play at my church and at grave sides. I even downloaded the tabular from the internet to learn how to play Amazing grace and other gospel music.

I smiled at her and said “I’m so glad you are still playing the flute and that you came by to share your story with me”.  I grabbed her hand gently and very lovingly, and held them.

She looked right at me with tears welding up in her and said “you don’t understand. You changed my life and I wanted you to know that”.

I’m sure I must of had a confused look on my face.

She went on to say, “when I grew up I always wanted to play music, but never had the opportunity to.” Then the years went by and she thought she couldn’t play music and that she never would. She never lost her desire to learn how to play music.

When I took my own time that day and sat down with her and showed her she could play music, it changed her life in a way she never thought would come.

Tears were streaming down her face and now they were streaming down mine. I was so touched by her story. I was at a loss for words.

She told me that she is now learning to play the harp and that music is very much a part of her life.

She said, “I have been trying to find you for a while, so I could let me know how you changed my life.  That day under trees, one of the things you shared with me, was that when you play, you close your eyes and allow the music and the spirit of the moment to flow through you.”

She then looked me in the eyes and said “that is what I do and the music and spirit flows through me”.

I hugged her and told how grateful I was that she took the time to find me and to share her story with me.

My dad always said “everyone has a song inside them”. I would add to that “you have trust and believe enough in yourself to let it out”.

It is such a blessing when someone can sincerely touch your spirit in such a loving and kind way, and even more of a blessing when it is someone you barely know.

Bless be!

One thought on “Taking Time

Leave a Reply

