The Circle of Life

I’m sitting on my front porch steps and it is a beautiful morning.  The sun is shining, the birds are chirping and there is a slight cool breeze blowing upon me. 

I remember sitting on these same steps 13 years ago when we first moved here.  I would hand write letters to my father and share with him my joy at living here and how I was shifting gears and creating a new life for myself.  A life that would allow me to live more in the moment and live closer to nature.  That seems so long ago. 

As I sit here this morning and I look around my yard, I see that it has been transformed greatly from 13 years ago. 

ElderBerriesSm

Elder Berry Flowers

We have raised beds that I grow herbs, flowers and few garden vegetables in.  I have planted trees, blue berry bushes, rose bushes, wild lady slippers and flowers.  

We have chickens up on the hill beside the house that provide us with eggs and meat.  The chickens not only entertain us and our grandchildren, but they teach us some lessons about natural laws, that most of us are disconnected from these days. 

Last weekend my grandson got one of his first lessons in one of these natural laws.  What we call the,  “The Circle of Life”.

Danny and I were standing on our porch talking last weekend, when I looked over at the bottom of our porch steps and I saw our cat, Joe (named after the man we got him from) had caught something and it looked fairly large. 

I pointed it out to Danny and he walked down the steps to Joe and leaned over to take a closer look at what Joe had.  It was a rabbit.  Not a full grown rabbit and not a baby.  I would say it was a teenage rabbit, for a lack of a better term. 

Danny noticed that it was still alive, so he took it away from Joe.  Joe was not happy about his prize being taken from him.  After all, this was his catch.   

Danny handed the rabbit to me and I noticed it didn’t seemed hurt any where, but its heart was racing as fast as a locomotive train. 

I said to Danny,

“lets go down and show it to our grandson”. 

 

Danny smiled. 

I handed the rabbit to Danny and grabbed my car keys.  We jumped into my car and drove down our road a 1/2 mile to where our kids live.

When our grandson (who is 4 1/2 years old) came out to see us, his face lite up with a big smile when he saw the rabbit in Danny’s hands.  When he next looked up at us you could the wonder twinkling brightly in his eyes. 

It brought a great big smiles to our faces. 

We let our grandson pet the rabbit and we talked about how we came upon the rabbit and the kinds of things that rabbits like to eat and things they like to do. 

Then Danny said to our grandson

“we need to go over to that field and let the rabbit go free, do you want to come with me?” 

Our grandson nodded an agreement that was full of enthusiasm. 

RabbitSmall

Danny and our grandson freed the rabbit and when they came back, I detected something slightly different in our grandson.  I sensed peace or joy or satisfaction, or maybe all of those emotions in him, I’m not sure. 

Our grandson wanted to come home with us and take a short hike.  It is something the three of us regularly do, when the weather is nice. 

When we got to our house and headed down the road on our hike, I looked over and saw our cat, Joe in the neighbors fields in a crouched position.  His hunting posture.

I mentioned this to Danny and my grandson, and our grandson wanted to go over and see if there was a rabbit’s nest near where Joe was crouched.

When we got within 10 feet of Joe, he suddenly pounced and came up with another teenage rabbit in his mouth. 

He didn’t hang around.  Before we could even think about about what we were seeing, Joe took off like a streak of lightening and headed for our house.  He was determined to keep his prize this time. 

Our grandson wanted to go back home and save the rabbit.  I gently explained to him, that by the time we return back to our house, that Joe may have killed the rabbit. 

Our grandson expressed some sorrow about this.  We explained to him that everything has to eat.  That one of the things that Joe eats, is rabbits. 

We explained to him that we (humans) kill to eat.  We kill cows, chickens and plants so that we can live.  It is what we call

“The Circle of Life”. 

 

He looked up at me and said “I know what else we kill”.  I asked what that was.  He said “Gorillas”. 

I was so surprise by that comment.  He does watch a lot of nature shows. 

I said “yes, we do Gorillas, but not for food.  This kind of killing isn’t a good thing to do.  Life is sacred, and should not be wasted”. 

He thought about for it a moment and said “yeah”. 

When we returned home, Joe was hiding under Danny’s camper with his rabbit.  Joe had killed the rabbit this time and he had already eaten part of the rabbit. 

Our grandson got down on his hands and knees with Danny to look closely at the rabbit and to get a glimpse of  “The Circle of Life”. 

He thought it was gross, but he seem to understand “The Circle of Life” and he wasn’t afraid. 

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “The Circle of Life

  1. That’s a great story. I am so thankful for you and Danny. You two are so great with Blake. I saw Danny today going down the bypass with the camper and before Blake could see him he had already passed so he didn’t get the chance to see him and he got so upset and demanded I turn around and catch up to him I explained I couldn’t and he cried and said I want to see papaw Danny. I felt so bad he loves him so much. It’s great! I feel so blessed to have such wonderful people in our lives.

Leave a Reply

