Elderberry Syrup

We love Elderberries syrup.  This year we had a bumper crop of Elderberries.  I really can’t remember when I have ever seen such big Elderberry heads.  Danny made a bunch of Elderberry syrup and froze a bunch of the berries so we could make more of the syrup this winter.

Elderberry syrup is not only tasty, but it is also really good for you.  It contains a lot of:

  • Immune System Booster
  • High in Vitamin C
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B
  • Thiamine
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Phosphorus

Elderberries have been used not only for syrup, wines, pies, and jellies, but also as pea shooters for children, and Native American Indian flutes.

I did a Google search on the internet and I found a couple of interesting links.  Here they are:

Here is the recipe we used for our syrup:

  • 1 cup of Elderberries
  • 3 cups of water
  • 2 cups of sugar

Cook the Elderberries and water on the stove top.  Bring it to a boil, then let it simmer for about 45 minutes.  Strain off the juice.  For every 4 cups of juice add 2 cups of sugar.  Place back on the stove top and bring to a boil.  Let this simmer for 10 minutes.  Then pour syrup into sterile canning jars and place lids on the jars.  Turn jars upside down for a few minutes, then turn them back right side up.  This helps to heat the lids so that they will seal well.

Here are some pictures I took of our Elderberry plants this year.  I hope you enjoy them.

4 thoughts on “Elderberry Syrup

  1. I am 64 years old and try as I may I do not recall ever eating Elderberries. Hopefully, someday soon, I will have the opportunity to try them. Thank you for sharing the pictures and the music.
    Peace, Tim

  2. I apologize for being slow in my reply.
    I have lived most of my life in Evansville, Indiana and I would not be surprised to learn that Elderberries grow in this area. However, as I said before, I do not recall ever eating any. Like my parents I am a city dweller, although, I have from time to time stalked and brought down a few rump roasts at the local grocery.
    Peace and happiness, Tim

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review « Living on Paint Creek

Leave a Reply

