Mother’s Day 2010

I had one of the best mother’s day ever.  It was a beautiful and cool day.  It was great for working outside and not working up a sweat, or not much of one.

I have a herb bed out front of my house that I have been wanting to turn into a raised bed.   Yesterday that transpired.  Here is a picture of the herb bed before any work was started.

BeforeFlowerBed

My son and husband built a stone wall around this herb bed.  It took them about a half day.  Here are the after pictures:

BigFlowerBed

BigBedInside

I just love it.  What an awesome mother’s day gift.

I need to add a bunch of compost to this bed.  Hopefully I can do some of that today.

The stone isn’t new stone, but it is in great condition.  We were able to re-claim the stone.  About a month ago we were able to take down an old wall and keep the stone and this is the stone from that wall.

The cost of this wall was just our time and some labor.  I love re-using stuff.  One person’s trash is another person’s treasure.

While my son and husband were building the stone wall around my herb bed, I transplanted some White Iris to a new small flower bed near our front porch steps.  Here is a picture of a white iris and the small flower bed.

IrisFlower

SmallFlowerBed

We had some stones left over, so my son and husband put the remaining stones around my new small  flower bed.  I just love it.

Kay

We finished the day off with dinner with my daughter, her boyfriend, my sister mom and her husband.  Dinner was delicious and the company was great.  What a great day.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day 2010

  1. Great post! Never saw a white iris before! It is beautiful. Nice photography of it as well.
    Love the other pictures too.

  2. You should put a followers widget on your blog. You have captured a lot of God’s creation so well with your camera.
    I’ve enjoyed looking over your blog. I came across it through another blog I follow, and I’m glad I did. I am now a follower of yours as well. Feel free to look over my blog and perhaps become one as well.

  3. Your walls look great! I know you are so proud to have a great place to show off your hard herbal work. Speaking of herbs, I raninto someone that makes medicines/sauves as you do. They were looking for some “black sauve” or “black root” for the sauve. Are you familiar with this? If so, where can this be found?
    Happy mommas day (belated)

Leave a Reply

